The ghosts of broken mortar and tumbling stones

While walking through cobbled streets I passed by broken buildings with peeling paint and shattered glass. I could almost hear echoes of life once vibrant and lusty coming from behind the doors that now shutter and moan with each breath of air flowing through the lofty windows. As I moved past the row of faded buildings, now empty and sad, I felt compelled to venture down a crumbling stairway leading to the decrepit cemetary of broken mortar and tumbling stones. There were secrets here, hiding beneath the rocks, festered between each tenacal of deep green moss.  I heard the murmur of stories never told and felt the importance of every brick that laid their foundation. (Photo credit to Pinterest)

Lonely rooms of broken chairs and empty promises nudge my curiousities and beg my hands to create with the click of a lens or stroke of a pen. The regal bones of this room tells me that it was once an important place where the lovely curved architecture framed a vision of promise and success. I feel the presence of a woman standing by the window gazing at her children playing in the yard while a small white cat lay curled in a perfect C in the red velvet chair.  (Photo credit to Pinterest)

I suppose it is fever of a shut in during the long months of winter that inspire me to stalk the pages of  Pinterest in search of interesting images that tell tall tales. Like the room above that begs for a juicy tale about a young woman full of promising talent,  I imagine that her long slender feet once clicked across the shiny floorboards in designer heels afforded by her very successful singing carreer.

The image of this shabby room with lovely graffiti and perfectly worn shoes speaks to me and begs for a good story to be told. As do the images above of lonely rooms and crumbling statues.

Recently,  I have spent some time pinning shabby photos that I imagine have a very interesting past. They peak my curiousities and beg me to take a little road trip to the abandoned streets of forgotten homes of Detroit. Hmmm, intriguing but could be dangerous.

All the photos above were borrowed from Pinterest.

Happy pinning!

2 thoughts on “The ghosts of broken mortar and tumbling stones

Leave a Reply

